BVos – My First E-Critic


So the Designated Conservative leaves a comment on a state government blog because the title of the blog posting (“Downtown as a Collective“) caught my eye.  As an American who grew up during the height of the Cold War, terms like “collective” and “social and communal equity” raise Red Flags.  When such terms are applied by state employees to otherwise capitalistic enterprises like downtown businesses, I felt I needed to leave a comment.  

You can read the original post and my comments here.

What do I find in response?   This…

Comments from BVos

Comments from BVos

The Designated Conservative has an ‘E-critic,’ and it’s none other than Brian Vosburg (“BVos”), subject of a previous update that can be found here.  

I deeply appreciate Mr. Borgstrom’s thoughtful and professional response (above), but I would like to take a moment to respond to BVos’ personal comment about me being “one of those negative people:”

Mr. Vosburg,

In my one post about your activities as director of the Ypsilanti DDA, I quoted excerpts from and posted links to various local news and opinion sources with some added thoughts of my own regarding your professional behavior and choices as a public official.  On the other hand, you chose to get personal and impugne the Designated Conservative’s character with your comments above.  

To succeed as a public official in local government, it is essential to understand the difference between these two actions – and it also helps to develop a thicker skin.  The way a public official responds to criticism is a better measure of future success than anything else I know.  Responding to my blog posting by trying to needle Mr. Borgstrom into removing my comment on his site is uncool; and impugning my character is just unbecoming of a public official at any level.

You are always welcome to comment on what I post here, which is the appropriate place to do so if you have a problem with something you read on my blog.  I moderate my comments for spam, and as long as you respect the “comment policy” of this site your thoughts will be published.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours, 

Designated Conservative

ps  Links to my “positive posts” can be found here, here, here, here, here, and here, among others, and those don’t even begin to touch on the funny stuff like this, or the helpful stuff like this.  Even this one and this one qualify as positive to me, since they focus on everyday heros in our midst.  I encourage you to read more than one post before you make such personal judgments about the writer.

This entry was posted in Michigan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BVos – My First E-Critic

  1. BloggerDude says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

